5 Simple Steps To Take When Your Routines Are In Shambles

With all the recent changes in my life my routines have been in shambles. And right now I am feeling the effects of that. I’m a creature of habit and love structure in my day. I know that things don’t always go as planned but I’d at least like to dictate my morning and evening routine. Even though I’m usually pretty good at sticking to my morning routine, these past two week has been chaos.

It’s pretty understandable. With the recent move and change in space, it seems that my mind and body as yet to adjust. On top of that starting a network marketing business while working an 8-4pm job, running a blog and creating social media is a bit overwhelming. I feel very disorganized right now.

At times, I find myself fighting to keep calm and not crash and burn. I’ve been sleeping in a lot this week, my bedtime is inconsistent and my creative juices feel stagnant. After much thought, I realised that I need to stop pressuring myself so much. It’s okay for things to be in an upheaval for a while. It’s okay to not stick to my sleep and wake time as my body adjusts to a new place. It’s okay to feel flustered and slow down. It takes time to adjust to change and get back into a routine. The key is to take it one step at a time and to create some healthy boundaries.

How To Get Back Into A Routine

  1. The first step is acknowledging that what worked before might not work now. The situation is different and so requires a different strategy, a different structure.
  2. The next step is to set aside enough time to journal and brain dump all the things that needs to get done. Once you remove all of the to-dos from your head, your mind will feel less cluttered and overwhelmed. You also don’t have to worry about forgetting anything important.
  3. After that you can start putting things in order. Focus on the high priority things like sleep, meals, exercise, and other self care practices. After all you can’t give your best without being your best.
  4. Next is to include time with loved ones and family and to input your work time and anything else you need to get done.
  5. Finally, make time each day to analyse your routine. This is important so that you can understand what works from what doesn’t.

Whenever, I’m re-adjusting my schedule and thinking about ways to prioritise my tasks, I find myself re-reading this article by Craig Ballantyne. In the article, Craig demonstrates how he organises his weekly agenda from the highest to lowest priority tasks. He uses a 7×7 grid layout to plan out his week. Basically he recommends that you:

  • Schedule Your Relationship and Self-Care Non-Negotiables
  • Schedule Productivity Routines
  • Schedule Deep Work
  • Schedule Workā€”and Everything Else

Essentially my goal this week is to get back into a routine while also not pressuring myself too much in the process.

You May Also Like

Thank you for reading.

AmethystAP

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment